Picture
I would like to take a moment to apologize to my readers (If I have any left!) for my absence from KULTURE/AMERICA fro the past 18 months.

I have been caring for an elderly and ill family member, and my life has been filled with social workers, quack doctors, bureaucrats, and various functionaries from the Medical-Industrial-Insurance Complex.
War on our Parents


The experience has been an exhausting one, as the relative of whom I speak, my mother, was in no way prepared for what should have been her golden years, but instead became a kind of nightmare. Taking care of her business, I have had to deal with family betrayal and apathy, predatory banks, the spiritual bankruptcy of our system of care for the elderly, and continuous stress. At most turns, attempts at improving my mother's physical condition have been met with bureaucratic stonewalling and medical irresponsibility. It can be likened to being dropped into a train wreck and being asked to clean it up.

But, in the process, I have learned invaluable lessons concerning embracing love and rejecting selfishness, and have tried to care for all my mother's needs the best I can. Through it all my faith in God has only increased, and whatever the future brings, I will stand and deal with it like a man. Please never forget your own parents, who, with our Lord, gave you the gift of life.

I now have a bit of time for my own work, which includes the recording of a new double album of music, and a return to journalism and essaying...I have much work to do, so I am setting to it.

Thanks & love to everyone.


And keep in mind that you come into this world as a helpless babe and you will most likely leave here in the same manner. Give your burden unto God, and he will ease your way on those last miles, and bring you home.

"Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest."    Matthew 11: 28




Leave a Reply.